Being Grateful Now

BeingGratefulNow

As a writer, I dream of the day I can quit my day job and live comfortably writing full time. And though I strive for balance, there are times I find myself in constant motion to get there, forgetting to appreciate the moment.  

This morning was one of those times. As I called Lilly, my sweet pittie mix, outside for her brushing, I was thinking about how close I am to publishing my first book, what still needs done beforehand, the amount of marketing that still needs put into place, and how much I can work on this weekend.

When I sat on the porch Lilly lay her head in my lap, and as I began massaging her coat, my mind relaxed and my body followed, which surprised me because I hadn’t realized how tense I was. I heard the sweet sonnets of bird song, and leaves rustling in the breeze.  A wild turkey walked out of the woods, and on the far end of the field, barely visible in the distance, a deer raised its head and looked around. And then, coming from inside the house, I could hear my husband gently strumming the guitar, practicing his newest song. I looked down at Lilly, who rolled her big brown eyes up at me, and remembered that once again, I’d forgotten to pause and reflect on my many blessings.

I have a beautiful family, a home that keeps me warm and dry, and I live among wide open spaces surrounded by nature. All of my needs are met. I know love, and I know hope. The day job? It’s a good one, and a necessity right now, and I’m glad I have it. For all of that and so much more, I’m very grateful.

Yes, today I’ll continue to work toward my dream, but I’ll do so knowing that everything is as it should be right now. I’ll take breaks to love on my fur babies, to enjoy my husband’s company, to call my sister, who is my editor, brain-stormer, awesome supporter, and my best friend, to be sure she knows how much I love and appreciate her, and of course, I’ll just be. And really, what more can a girl ask for?   

Signature.1

Leave a comment